Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Valvetrain
Valvetrain Heads | Cam | Rockers | Pushrods | Valves

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-07-2008, 02:57 AM
jnxv6 jnxv6 is offline
Captain, Purple Pearl Armada


 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Rank: Specialist
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.8blackmaro View Post
You can do it with the 3100, 3400, and 3500. You'll need to swap the heads, uim, lim, and pistons unless you want a really high compression and headers if I'm correct. Then you have to find a way to control it.

To the OP, what are you gonna use to control all this when your done.
Does anyone know what the gains are using 3100 heads, upper and lower intake manifold and pistons? If I use all of those parts, could I use the same pcm that came with my car? I am wondering this because I might be able to get those parts cheap.
__________________
<a href=http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h289/roosduster/Camaro.jpg target=_blank>http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ter/Camaro.jpg</a>
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-07-2008, 09:51 AM
Forced_Firebird Forced_Firebird is offline


 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Rank: Private
Posts: 32
Default

There have been people who did the 3400 top end swap and used the stock PCM, but like any other mods (cam and such) it's best to tune. You can get away with using an adjustable fuel pressure regulator, but tuning will take full advantage, and you will have to use 3400 pistons.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-21-2009, 08:05 PM
ZeRo's Avatar
ZeRo ZeRo is offline


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kewanee Illinois
Rank: Master Sergeant
Posts: 1,051
Default

I have a 1998 pontiac montana 3400 donor van in the back yard, for all this top end swap, how much power gains should I expect???
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-06-2009, 01:56 AM
jnxv6 jnxv6 is offline
Captain, Purple Pearl Armada


 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Rank: Specialist
Posts: 429
Default

How much rerouting of fuel line is there for the 3400 swap?
__________________
<a href=http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h289/roosduster/Camaro.jpg target=_blank>http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ter/Camaro.jpg</a>
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-11-2009, 05:47 PM
black34v6 black34v6 is offline


 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Rank: Private
Posts: 5
Default

When I FIRST did the "update" to my 3.4L RWD Camaro (mind you I'm the guy that started all this nonsense thinking)...

I used the 1996 3100 heads, 1996 3100 intake (upper/lower) and 3400 throttle body (cause the 3.4 wont bolt up).

you HAVE to do the pistons - no matter what. After bolting all this together, i *had* to use headers, normal exhaust manifolds wouldn't fit (2 weeks with a dremel and breaking one told me that) - and I managed to get everything to work FLAWLESSLY without tuning!

I also went from 140.2rwhp / 183.5rwtq -> 170.3rwhp / 207.1rwtq.

WITHOUT TUNING. now yes, forced firebird is right - you should eventually tune. Upgrading to the 3400 parts did nothing to effect the ecm (stock 3.4L RWD ECM) - but once i put in the custom cam, all hell broke loose and i now have a 10.5:1 AF Ratio

So yes - eventually a tune will be needed, but if you dont use a custom cam you can get away with just using the stock ECM. I'm not sure how an auto car will respond to this (I have a T5 manual), but you can try.

Peace out.

-R
__________________

hybrid - \'\'hI-br&d - The offspring of a cross between species.
West Coast F-Bodies

Last edited by black34v6; 09-11-2009 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-11-2009, 05:57 PM
black34v6 black34v6 is offline


 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Rank: Private
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnxv6 View Post
How much rerouting of fuel line is there for the 3400 swap?
http://black34v6.wcfb.cc/modpics/

go there and you can see the INITIAL swap i did with the 3100 parts. things are 99% the same with the 3400 - the fuel rail is part of the similarities.
__________________

hybrid - \'\'hI-br&d - The offspring of a cross between species.
West Coast F-Bodies
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-11-2009, 01:55 AM
jnxv6 jnxv6 is offline
Captain, Purple Pearl Armada


 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Rank: Specialist
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black34v6 View Post
http://black34v6.wcfb.cc/modpics/

go there and you can see the INITIAL swap i did with the 3100 parts. things are 99% the same with the 3400 - the fuel rail is part of the similarities.
Thanks for the links to the pics. Is that the stock EGR I see in the pics? Also what all new hoses did you have to get and for any new ones, what are the part numbers? Also the bracket you made for the coil packs, was that necessary for the MSD boxes(for lack of a better term) under the coils or was it something else in the swap that made it necessary?
__________________
<a href=http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h289/roosduster/Camaro.jpg target=_blank>http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ter/Camaro.jpg</a>

Last edited by jnxv6; 10-11-2009 at 02:05 AM.
Reply With Quote

Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Valvetrain
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 - 2017 V6F-Body.com