Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Appearance
Appearance Body | Spoilers | Hoods | Wheels | Paint | Polish | Interior | Gauges

Old 07-15-2010, 04:44 PM
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator

Default Refinishing my stock rims

As you all know, the stock camaro saw blade rims start to lose the clear coat. i wanted to keep my stock rims and refinish them with a tinted clear coat. Did some photoshop on my stock rim and found the shade and look that I want.(see below) what does it take to re-coat the rims. I'm guessing a good stripper. I have a air compressor and a small hvlp sprayer. I'm new to paint and body. I've just played with some body work before. I'm not experienced, but really want to do a lot if not all of this on my own. Can you help guide me through this project?

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"

Last edited by xpbr2000; 10-25-2017 at 03:16 PM.
Old 07-15-2010, 05:49 PM
Elevators Smell Different To Lil People

Strip/clean them very well, sand a little to scuff them slightly with some fine sand paper, wipe off and clean again with some grease and wax remover, spray the color, might have to wet sand if there are some runs, then clear coat them. That's how I would do it.
Old 07-15-2010, 07:58 PM
Resident Bass-Kung Fu Artist

really, there's no stripper necessary. here's what i did:

take all 4 wheels off the car, you'll wanna do them all at the same time. clean and wash the wheels very well with Dawn or another good grease-cutting soap to get ALL the road grime and brake dust off. be sure to paint your center caps seperate.