PDA

View Full Version : Quick question



Enzo354
05-23-2011, 03:14 AM
How do you get the #4 cyl spark plug out of a 3.8 camaro with pace setters? For the life of me I cant get that thing out.

Throwback Bird
05-23-2011, 08:53 AM
Well my car isn't a 3.8 but if you can't get a ratchet on it you may have to use a boxed in wrench.

Bonemaro
05-23-2011, 09:16 AM
It's a bitch. I use a spark plug socket with the rubber out and a pair of vice grips. Still, I question if it's tight enough.

freakv6
05-23-2011, 09:47 AM
I had to use a standard deep well to get it, the special spark plug sockets were a little to long. I put the socket on the plug, then connect the socket wrench to it.

3.8blackmaro
05-23-2011, 09:53 AM
I don't really see an issue with 4, but I use this http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item.asp?P65=&tool=hand&item_ID=76029&group_ID=19831&store=snapon-store&dir=catalog. I have issues with 6 when I do them. I just use that and reach up under it and get it fairly easily.

Battousai
05-23-2011, 02:33 PM
I just bought a spark plug socket from autozone, works great for me.

Pace
05-23-2011, 03:44 PM
I just bought a spark plug socket from autozone, works great for me.

That and a swivel head makes things so much easier. Although I haven't had a problem changing plugs with CIA headers.

Enzo354
05-23-2011, 07:27 PM
Thanks for the advice guys. Horrible design right there.

straightnastyv6
05-23-2011, 08:53 PM
i still havnt changed 2 and 4 on my 3.8l with stock headers

Enzo354
05-23-2011, 09:55 PM
Thats actually possible though haha.

tkoforpresident
05-23-2011, 10:48 PM
3.4 = win

Throwback Bird
05-23-2011, 11:50 PM
Hahaha, seems like the newer they get, the harder it is to change spark plugs.