PDA

View Full Version : Spark plug gapping...



Need For Steve
10-07-2008, 11:26 PM
i'm tryin to figure this out for sure...i've been under the impression that nowadays spark plugs come pre-gapped, however i've been told that sometimes they dont come properly set and you have to gap them yourself...what's the deal here? do they come gapped or not?

jnxv6
10-08-2008, 02:53 AM
i'm tryin to figure this out for sure...i've been under the impression that nowadays spark plugs come pre-gapped, however i've been told that sometimes they dont come properly set and you have to gap them yourself...what's the deal here? do they come gapped or not?

Some do and some don't, I always feel it is better to check. Plus one spark plug maybe used for multiple brands and they may want them gapped differently. I have seen two spark plugs from the same box of four where one is gapped and one isn't.

Crazed98Camaro
10-08-2008, 06:46 AM
Yeah, I like to just check it anyway, only takes a minute of your time.

freakv6
10-08-2008, 08:54 AM
^^^ agreed. Most of the time they are, but its well worth the peace of mind to go ahead and double check them.

Bonemaro
10-08-2008, 10:21 AM
What is the recommended gap for our cars?

freakv6
10-08-2008, 10:35 AM
I believe stock gap is 60 thousandths. (.060) Of course, as you change your mods this may need to be adjusted.

tmon930
10-08-2008, 11:04 AM
how do you change the gap?

freakv6
10-08-2008, 11:41 AM
you buy a spark plug gapper, place it in between the gap at the end of the plug. the gapper has measurements of thousandths marked off all the way around the dail. you press the gap closer until the tool fits snuggly between the gap at the point on the tool that has the gap you want. I know that sounds confusing, but if you see a spark plug gapper, it would make more sense.

cheap too, their only a dollar to 2 at any autoparts store.

http://www.lancershop.com/files/ad_button/plug_gapper.jpg

their it is. you place that between the gap at the end (at the spot on the gapper that has the gap you want). then press down until it snuggly fits in there.

SpeedingFirebird
10-08-2008, 11:47 AM
They are cheap and amazingly simple. Make the gap of the spark plug equal to the thickness of gapper at the marked measurement you want

freakv6
10-08-2008, 11:55 AM
lol ^^^ much better put them me.

Need For Steve
10-08-2008, 12:54 PM
oh ok, i gotcha lol. i was wondering mostly because we changed the plugs in my dad's F150 the other day, and all 8 plugs that were supposed to be gapped correctly, were off. so, just to be sure of the "gap", it's the space between the arch on the end and the electrode, right?

freakv6
10-08-2008, 12:56 PM
correct well more so the tip of the arch and the electode

ViperRider
10-08-2008, 07:32 PM
Is it tough to change plugs and wires? Midas wants $300 plus to do the job...

Will
10-08-2008, 07:39 PM
Is it tough to change plugs and wires? Midas wants $300 plus to do the job...

Dayummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Travis@gvperformance
10-08-2008, 07:46 PM
Is it tough to change plugs and wires? Midas wants $300 plus to do the job...

on a 3.8 without headers, yes it sucks a big one and is a pain. Some come out from the bottom and others through the top. It is not a fun project

Will
10-08-2008, 08:08 PM
on a 3.8 without headers, yes it sucks a big one and is a pain. Some come out from the bottom and others through the top. It is not a fun project

But still isnt worth paying someone 300 to do it

Travis@gvperformance
10-08-2008, 08:12 PM
But still isnt worth paying someone 300 to do it

if someone really doesn't want to do it they will pay the money to do it, ha.

Will
10-08-2008, 08:18 PM
lol suckss

freakv6
10-08-2008, 08:34 PM
I did all mine from the top with my stock manifolds. i say its definetly worth the savings to tackle it yourself. all it takes is some time and patience.

97Bird
10-08-2008, 08:46 PM
just so everyone knows, our (ignition)systems are capable of producing 80k volts!!! but it will only produce enough to bridge the gap on the plug. i think it is around 15k-18k volts, if you increase the spark gap, the system will produce more electricity to bridge the gap. that means you can burn more air/fuel mixture. i recommend you do this if you have ANY modification to your car. much cheaper than buying new plugs that may work with your car, at least until you spray or boost.

Crazed98Camaro
10-08-2008, 08:50 PM
I did the whole ignition, Coils, Wires and plugs, all in less than 5 hours.
Of course I had the help of a few friends, and with that help came a lot of bullshitting,
But it is really a good thing to try to tackle yourself.