Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: 3.4/3400

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    429
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 3.8blackmaro View Post
    You can do it with the 3100, 3400, and 3500. You'll need to swap the heads, uim, lim, and pistons unless you want a really high compression and headers if I'm correct. Then you have to find a way to control it.

    To the OP, what are you gonna use to control all this when your done.
    Does anyone know what the gains are using 3100 heads, upper and lower intake manifold and pistons? If I use all of those parts, could I use the same pcm that came with my car? I am wondering this because I might be able to get those parts cheap.
    <a href=http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h289/roosduster/Camaro.jpg target=_blank>http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ter/Camaro.jpg</a>

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    There have been people who did the 3400 top end swap and used the stock PCM, but like any other mods (cam and such) it's best to tune. You can get away with using an adjustable fuel pressure regulator, but tuning will take full advantage, and you will have to use 3400 pistons.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Kewanee Illinois
    Posts
    1,054
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I have a 1998 pontiac montana 3400 donor van in the back yard, for all this top end swap, how much power gains should I expect???

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    429
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    How much rerouting of fuel line is there for the 3400 swap?
    <a href=http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h289/roosduster/Camaro.jpg target=_blank>http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ter/Camaro.jpg</a>

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    When I FIRST did the "update" to my 3.4L RWD Camaro (mind you I'm the guy that started all this nonsense thinking)...

    I used the 1996 3100 heads, 1996 3100 intake (upper/lower) and 3400 throttle body (cause the 3.4 wont bolt up).

    you HAVE to do the pistons - no matter what. After bolting all this together, i *had* to use headers, normal exhaust manifolds wouldn't fit (2 weeks with a dremel and breaking one told me that) - and I managed to get everything to work FLAWLESSLY without tuning!

    I also went from 140.2rwhp / 183.5rwtq -> 170.3rwhp / 207.1rwtq.

    WITHOUT TUNING. now yes, forced firebird is right - you should eventually tune. Upgrading to the 3400 parts did nothing to effect the ecm (stock 3.4L RWD ECM) - but once i put in the custom cam, all hell broke loose and i now have a 10.5:1 AF Ratio

    So yes - eventually a tune will be needed, but if you dont use a custom cam you can get away with just using the stock ECM. I'm not sure how an auto car will respond to this (I have a T5 manual), but you can try.

    Peace out.

    -R
    Last edited by black34v6; 09-11-2009 at 05:51 PM.

    hybrid - \'\'hI-br&d - The offspring of a cross between species.
    West Coast F-Bodies

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jnxv6 View Post
    How much rerouting of fuel line is there for the 3400 swap?
    http://black34v6.wcfb.cc/modpics/

    go there and you can see the INITIAL swap i did with the 3100 parts. things are 99% the same with the 3400 - the fuel rail is part of the similarities.

    hybrid - \'\'hI-br&d - The offspring of a cross between species.
    West Coast F-Bodies

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    429
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by black34v6 View Post
    http://black34v6.wcfb.cc/modpics/

    go there and you can see the INITIAL swap i did with the 3100 parts. things are 99% the same with the 3400 - the fuel rail is part of the similarities.
    Thanks for the links to the pics. Is that the stock EGR I see in the pics? Also what all new hoses did you have to get and for any new ones, what are the part numbers? Also the bracket you made for the coil packs, was that necessary for the MSD boxes(for lack of a better term) under the coils or was it something else in the swap that made it necessary?
    Last edited by jnxv6; 10-11-2009 at 02:05 AM.
    <a href=http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h289/roosduster/Camaro.jpg target=_blank>http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ter/Camaro.jpg</a>

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •